Solitude

Tonight’s Speakeasy theme at the Park Tavern is “Solitude” and Zoe Quinlan led a well-attended workshop a couple of weeks ago for Macclesfield Creative Writing Group to draw in the crowds with lots of relevant material. Here’s what I’ve written for the theme.

Solitude   

(After “Daffodils”by William Wordsworth)

I wandered lonely in a crowd,

whilst posting thoughts unveiling ills.

I walked along and talked  out loud.

Aren’t earphones great! They’re really brill!

Beside the bank, through shopping malls

whilst still on line with website pals.

 

Continuous as the stars that tweet

or presidents at 4 am

their every thought quite indiscrete.

Oh how I do so envy them!

Ten thousand followers at a glance

each logging on at every chance.

 

My Facebook page where I lay bare

the trivia of each passing day

is where I live or simply stare

or turn to online games and play.

These habits steal my days. They filch,

so social intercourse is zilch!

 

For often on my couch I lie

and nothing much comes on TV,

I sometimes ask myself just why

I am so crap at being me.

But then my heart with pleasure fills

until I get my broad band bills.

5 comments

  1. STEPHEN JOSEPH · June 20

    Modern commentary. Stop being so hard on yourself young man🌹

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. M Holbrook · June 20

    I would imagine that will go down a treat at Speakeasy. 🙂 Whether Wordsworth is spinning or not, I’m not sure.

    Like

  3. mph26 · June 21

    I enjoyed hearing this at Ubergene and it’s good to have a chance to read the written version!

    Like

  4. teacherspet1 · June 21

    Quite! Good on you. Lv Margaret

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  5. vivbetts · June 21

    great but I do feel a bit guilty sitting at my computer!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

